Honorary Degrees

This is a list of all Honorary Doctors of the University of York, sponsored by the Department of Computer Science.

???? Niklaus Wirth Designer of the Pascal language
???? Tony (C.A.R.) Hoare Developer of the first Algol compiler, inventor of quicksort and CSP, and pioneer of formal methods
???? John Backus Principal designer of the Fortran language
???? Brian Oakley Chairman of SERC, and head of the Alvey (5th generation IT) programme
2000 Donald Michie Bletchley Park cryptanalyst and pioneer of artificial intelligence
2006 John Barnes One of the designers of the Ada language, and writer about real-time programming
2010 He Jifeng ----------------------------------------