Professional accreditation

We’re proud of the fact that our Computer Science courses are fully or partly accredited (where appropriate) by both the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) and the BCS (the Chartered Institute for IT) – both professional bodies of computing and engineering.

But what does this mean for you, the student?

Firstly, it is a mark of quality – we have been audited by both organisations and judged by both to provide a top level of education. Areas that are looked into include staffing, projects, resources, quality assurance, student support and the structure and technical depth of our courses.

Secondly, it means these courses are a great founding if you wish to achieve professional registration once you graduate. As the course must meet some, or all, of the academic requirements for professional registration in order for it to become accredited, it is a more streamlined way of achieving your professional registration.

We are also regularly audited to make sure that we keep these standards, so you can be sure that you are receiving an excellent Computer Science education.

Accredited courses are generally respected by employers – so you will also be increasing your career prospects.

You can also access our courses with funding from The Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) who offer a number of scholarships and grants for those studying on IET accredited courses - which includes all courses offered by Computer Science here at York. For more information please click here.

Which of our courses are accredited, and to what extent?

Our BEng/BSc in Computer Science (with or without a year in industry) is recognised by the BCS for the purposes of registering for the full Chartered IT Professional (CITP). It also recognises the course as partial fulfilment for the education requirement for Chartered Engineer (CEng)/Incorporated Engineer (IEng) registration, or Chartered Scientist.

Our remaining accredited courses are recognised by the BCS as fully meeting the educational requirement for the CITP, CITP Further Learning and CEng. The IET recognises them as fulfilling the education requirement for CEng registration. These courses are the MEng in Computer Science (with or without a year in industry), MEng in Computer Science with Artificial Intelligence (with or without a year in industry) and the MEng in Computer Science with Embedded Systems Engineering (with or without a year in industry).

If you take a year in industry, you are likely to have fulfilled some part of the training requirement, which is normally done through work experience.

Our combined degree courses with Mathematics do not carry accreditation. Our MEng in Computer Science with Cyber Security (with or without a year in industry) has not yet been through the accreditation process.

Check out our list of courses to find out which one is right for you.

What does each chartered status mean?

All of these chartered statuses are extremely valuable to employers and is a demonstration of your competence. Having a chartered status gives you enhanced career prospects in an increasingly competitive job market.
Each is slightly different, according to the job you want to do. The CITP accreditation requires you to demonstrate an understanding in a specialism of IT, whereas both the CEng and IEng shows that you can develop appropriate solutions to engineering problems and manage and develop applications of current and developing technology.

The CSci accreditation recognises scientists working with innovation in computer science, with a background in a specialism such as artificial intelligence, bio-inspired computing or algorithm design.

Check out the definitions on the BCS website, and hear from a BCS member what it means to be chartered.

Back to Top