Accessibility statement

Professional accreditation

We’re proud of the fact that our Computer Science courses are professionally recognised through accreditation by the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) and the BCS (the Chartered Institute for IT) – both the professional bodies representing computing and engineering in the UK. The National Cyber Security Centre (NCSC) certifies our MSc in Cyber Security. 

But what does this mean for you?

Firstly, it is a mark of quality – we have been audited by both organisations and judged by both to provide a top level of education. Areas that are looked into include staffing, projects, resources, quality assurance, student support and the structure and technical depth of our courses.

Secondly, it means these courses are a great foundation if you wish to achieve professional registration once you graduate. As the courses must meet some, or all, of the academic requirements for professional registration in order for it to become professionally accredited, it is a more streamlined way of achieving your professional registration.

We are also regularly audited to make sure that we keep these standards, so you can be sure that you are receiving an excellent Computer Science education.

Accredited courses are generally respected by employers – so you will also be increasing your career prospects.

You can also access our courses with funding from The Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) who offer a number of scholarships and grants for those studying on IET accredited courses.

Which of our courses are professionally accredited, and to what extent?

Our MSc in Cyber Security is fully certified by the National Cyber Security Centre (NCSC)
Our MSc in Human-Centred Interactive Technologies is recognised by the Institution of Engineering and Technology for partial fulfillment of the CEng, and by the BCS for partial fulfillment of the CEng and the CITP Further Learning.
Our MSc in Safety Critical Systems Engineering and PG Diploma in Safety Critical Systems Engineering are recognised by the British Computer Society (BCS) and the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) as partial fulfilment of the educational requirement for registration as a Chartered Engineer (CEng).
Our PG Certificate in System Safety Engineering may be used as part of a Continuing Professional Development programme for The Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) or The Chartered Institute for IT (BCS) members.
Our Continuing Professional Development short courses meet the IET Position Statement on Safety-Critical Systems.

If you choose to study on one of our courses that is not yet professionally accredited, please be assured about the quality of the degree. You will still be receiving a recognised degree from the University of York, and you can apply to either the IET or BCS for exemption from part of their educational requirement. 

Check out our list of courses to find out which one is right for you.

What does each chartered status mean?

All chartered statuses are extremely valuable to employers and is a demonstration of your competence. Having a chartered status gives you enhanced career prospects in an increasingly competitive job market.

Each is slightly different, according to the accreditation type and the course you have studied. The CITP accreditation requires you to demonstrate an understanding in a specialism of IT, whereas both the CEng and IEng shows that you can develop appropriate solutions to engineering problems and manage and develop applications of current and developing technology.

Back to Top