Accessibility statement

Computer Science celebrates students and staff at 2020 Award Evening

Posted on 26 June 2020

The award evening celebrates the outstanding contributions students and staff make to the Department of Computer Science.

The 2020 event moved online providing staff and students an opportunity to share a positive moment together and cast aside our lockdown loungewear to dress up smartly!

The event also marks the time of year when we say goodbye to our undergraduate finalists. Our amazing colleagues, led by Ian Gray, were not to be beaten by lockdown restrictions and produced a highly entertaining finalist video. We wish all our finalists (undergraduate and postgraduate) all the very best; we will miss you but can’t wait to hear about the great things you will achieve!


Our 2020 awards, nominees and winners are as follows.

Student Awards

The Student Awards celebrate students who support the department in our recruitment activities, teaching and programme delivery. It would be very difficult for us to run these activities without the students who help us.

This year’s award nominees and winners are:

Student Rep of the Year Award

  • Shortlisted nominees: Charlotte Wringe/Jacob Allen; Tom O’Neil; Matt Young; Georgios Kampanos and Natasha Coia
  • Highly Commended: Charlotte Wringe & Jacob Allen (3rd Year Reps)
  • Winner: Tom O’Neill (YUSU Department Rep and Chair SSF)

Student Ambassador of the Year 2020

  • Shortlisted nominees: Samantha Eastwood, Ivan Panton, Isaac Hulse, George Tattersall, Neel Chotai, Jacob Allen, Emmet Holwill and Natasha Coia.
  • Highly Commended: Ivan Panton & Sam Eastwood
  • Winner: George Tattersall

GTA of the Year 2020

  • Shortlisted nominees:  Garry Hollier; Mischa Cusveller; David Gundry; Sanjit Samaddar & Cameron Kyle-Davidson
  • Joint Winners: David Gundry and Cameron Kyle-Davidson

Head of Department Awards

The Head of Department awards are a new addition to the award evening and celebrate staff who have made an exceptional contribution to the Department. Professor Neil Audsley, our Head of Department, made the surprise announcement on the night!

This year’s award winners are:

  • Professional Service Award: Catherine Smith
  • Academic Award: Dawn Wood

Teaching & Learning Awards

The Teaching & Learning Awards celebrate excellence in teaching performance. The nominees were voted for by students in the Spring term.

This year’s award nominees and winners are:

Taught Supervisor of Year 2020

  • Shortlisted nominees: Chris Wood (Department of Mathematics); David Zendle; Detlef Plump; Siamak Shahandashti; Helen Petrie; Ibrahim Habli; Jeremy Jacob; Lilian Blot; Paul Cairns and Steve King
  • Winner: Paul Cairns

Outstanding Feedback 2020

  • Shortlisted nominees: Siamak Shahandashti, Javier Moreno; Lilian Blot; Rahul Ruttun; Steve King; Helen Petrie; Kofi Appiah and the whole of the CS PGR staff
  • Joint Winners: Helen Petrie & Kofi Appiah

Engaging Lecturer 2020

  • Shortlisted nominees: Dimitar Kazakov; Kofi Appiah; James Cussens, Leandro Soares Indrusiak; James Stovold; Lilian Blot; Mike Freeman; Paul Cairns and Steve King
  • Winner: Leandro Soares Indrusiak

Excellence in Learning & Teaching Award (ELTA) 2020

  • Shortlisted nominees: Alan Burns; James Cussens; James Stovold; Jeremy Jacob; Jim Woodcock; Kofi Appiah; Leandro Indrusiak; Lilian Blot; Mike Freeman; Paul Cairns; Rahul Ruttun; Siamak Shahandashti and Steve King
  • Winner: Lilian Blot

The evening was drawn to a close with a virtual raising of glasses and a heated debate on after party playlist content. Congratulations to our nominees and winners, and thanks to all Computer Science students and staff.