

17th EUROMICRO CONFERENCE ON REAL-TIME SYSTEMS

Palma de Mallorca, Balearic Islands, Spain, July 6-8, 2005

Organised by the Euromicro Technical Committee on Real-time Systems

Conference web site: http://www.cs.york.ac.uk/rts/ECRTS05/

CALL FOR PAPERS

THEME AND TOPICS OF INTEREST

The seventeenth EUROMICRO Conference on Real-Time Systems (ECRTS'05) is a forum aimed at covering state-of-the-art research and development in real-time computing. Papers on all aspects of real-time systems are welcome. These include, but are not limited to:

APPLICATIONS: consumer electronics; multimedia and entertainment; process control; avionics, aerospace; automotive; telecommunications.

INFRASTRUCTURE AND HARDWARE: communication networks; embedded devices; hardware/software co-design; power-aware and other resource-constrained techniques; systems on chip; time engines and time synchronization; wireless sensor networks.

SOFTWARE TECHNOLOGIES: compiler support; component-based approaches; middleware and distribution technologies; programming languages and operating systems.

SYSTEM DESIGN AND ANALYSIS: modelling and formal methods; probabilistic analysis for RT systems; quality of service support; reliability, security and survivability in RT systems; scheduling and schedulability analysis; worst-case execution time analysis; validation techniques.

SUBMISSION OF PAPERS

Full papers must be submitted electronically through our web form in a pdf format. The material must be unpublished and not under submission elsewhere. The paper should not exceed 5000 words and 20 pages in double-line spacing format.

CONFERENCE HIGHLIGTHS

Pursuing a successful tradition in the ECRTS series, a special **Work in Progress (WiP) session** will be organised. This session is mainly intended for presentation of on-going and recent work. Additionally, a set of **Satellite Workshops** focusing on hot topics will be organised. These include the continuation of the already successful real-time networks (RTN) and worst-case execution time (WCET) workshops, the fourth and fifth editions, respectively. A separate call for papers will be issued later for both WiP and satellite workshops. Please visit the website at http://www.cs.york.ac.uk/rts/ECRTS05/ later for further information.

The main conference will include three **Keynote Sessions**, one per day, which will be announced well in advance to the event. In this year's edition, besides the **Best Paper Award**, a selection of best papers will be invited for a **Special Issue** of a journal (more precise information to be made available later on).

IMPORTANT DATES

DEUROMICRO

Submission of full papers: New Extended Deadline: Notification of acceptance: Camera-ready paper due:

LOCAL INFORMATION

Palma de Mallorca is the capital of the Balearic Islands. A group of islands on the east coast of Spain. Palma has a population of around 360.000 people and is famous for its historical importance in the Mediterranean sea and its tourism.

December 13, 2004

December 20, 2004

March 18, 2005 April 15, 2005

The conference will be hosted at the *Gran Hotel* in the heart of Palma. The Gran Hotel is a modernist building designed by the architect Lluís Domènech i Montaner and completed in 1903. It is currently the headquarters of *Fundació "La caixa"* and hosts one of the finest art collections in Palma.

Sont San Joan is Mallorca's International Airport located 5 Km from Palma city center. It is very well connected to all major European cities, and actually one of the busiest airports in Europe. The weather in Palma in July is generally sunny and warm.

MEMBERS OF THE PROGRAM COMMITTEE

Luís Almeida (Portugal); Alejandro Alonso (Spain); Pedro Mejia Alvarez (Mexico); Karl-Erik Arzen (Sweden); Sanjoy Baruah (USA); Alan Burns (UK); Giorgio Buttazzo (Italy); António Casimiro (Portugal); Marco Caccamo (USA); Samarjit Chakraborty (Singapore); Jean-Dominique Decotignie (Switzerland); Petru Eles (Sweden); Gerhard Fohler (Sweden); Steve Goddard (USA); Hermann Haertig (Germany); Zdenek Hanzalek (Czech Republic); Michael Gonzalez Harbour (Spain); Jorg Kaiser (Germany); Julius Leite (Brazil); Giuseppe Lipari (Italy); Lucia Lo Bello (Italy); Kristina Lundquist (USA); Daniel Mosse (USA); Frank Mueller (USA); Luís Miguel Pinho (Portugal); Isabelle Puaut (France); Peter Puschner (Austria); Kriti Ramamritham (India); Sang Son (USA); Tullio Vardanega (Italy); Farn Wang (Taiwan); Richard West (USA); Sergio Yovine (France).

GENERAL CHAIR Guillem Bernat University of York York, United Kingdom bernat@cs.york.ac.uk

PROGRAM CHAIR

Eduardo Tovar Polytechnic Institute of Porto Porto, Portugal emt@dei.isep.ipp.pt

LOCAL ORGANISERS

Julián Proenza G. Rodríguez-Navas University of Balearic Islands Palma de Mallorca, Spain julian.proenza@uib.es, guillermo.rodrigueznavas@uib.es

REAL-TIME TECHNICAL COMMITTEE CHAIR Gerhard Fohler Malardalen University Vasteras, Sweden gerhard.fohler@mdh.se