Date view Thread view Subject view Author view Attachment view

From: Gianna Reggio (
Date: Mon 24 Nov 2003 - 15:30:52 GMT

                    CALL FOR PAPERS: SEFM 2004
              Second IEEE International Conference on
              Beijing, China 26 -- 30 September 2004

The Second IEEE International Conference on Software
Engineering and Formal Methods (SEFM 2004) will be held in
Beijing, the capital of China, during 28-30 September 2004.
Affiliated workshops and tutorials will be organized on 26th
and 27th September 2004, and call for workshops and tutorials
will be circulated separately by the Workshop/Tutorial chair.


   The aim of the conference is to bring together practitioners
   and researchers from academia, industry and government to
   advance the state of the art in formal methods, to scale up
   their application in software industry and to encourage their
   integration with practical engineering methods.


   SEFM 2004 solicits research papers related to, but not limited
   to, the following principal topics:

    *    requirement analysis and specification
    *    software architectures and their description languages
    *    software specification, validation and verification
    *    software design and refinement
    *    models of programs and systems
    *    object and multi-agent systems
    *    coordination and feature interaction
    *    integration of formal and informal methods
    *    integration of different formal methods
    *    component-based development
    *    service-oriented development
    *    aspect-oriented development
    *    formal aspects of security and mobility
    *    model checking and theorem proving
    *    fault-tolerant, real-time and hybrid systems
    *    analysis of safety-critical systems
    *    formal aspects of software evolution and maintenance
    *    formal methods for testing, re-engineering and reuse
    *    light-weight formal methods
    *    prototyping and visualisation
    *    CASE tools and tool integration
    *    application to industrial cases
    *    formal methods for industrial standardisation
    *    socio-economic implications of the use of formal methods

   substantial experience reports/case studies are also welcome.


   Submissions must not have been published or be
   concurrently considered for publication elsewhere. All
   submissions will be judged on the basis of originality,
   contribution to the field, technical and presentation quality,
   and relevance to the conference.

   The proceedings of the conference will be published by the
   IEEE Computer Society Press. Papers should be written in
   English and not exceed 10 pages in IEEE format.
   Instructions for authors are available at Latex formatting
   macros can be downloaded from the website at

   Further information and instructions about submissions can
   be found on the conference website. Authors are strongly
   encouraged to use this website to submit their papers in
   electronic form.


   Submission deadline for abstract:  29 March 2004
   Submission deadline for papers:    05 April 2004
   Notification of acceptance:        18 June 2004
   Camera-ready version due:          12 July 2004
   Tutorials and workshops:           26-27 September 2004
   SEFM 2004 in Beijing, China:       28-30 September 2004

General Chairs

   Jifeng He (UNU/IIST, Macao SAR China)
   Fuqing Yang (Peking University, China)

Program Committee Chairs

   Jorge R. Cuellar (Siemens Research, Munich, Germany)
   Zhiming Liu (UNU/IIST, Macao SAR China)

Publicity Chairs

   Gianna Reggio (University of Genova, Italy)
   Hanpin Wang (Peking University, China)

Finance Chair

   Antonio Cerone (The Univ of Queensland, Brisbane, Australia)

Organization Chair

   Hanping Wang (Peking University, China)

Tutorial and Workshop Chair

   Bernhard Aichernig (UNU/IIST, Macao SAR China)

Steering Committee

   Manfred Broy (Technical Univ Munich, Germany)
   Antonio Cerone (The Univ of Queensland, Brisbane, Australia)
   Geoff Dromey (Griffith University, Brisbane, Australia)
   Mike Hinchey (NASA GSFC, Greenbelt, MD, USA)
   Mathai Joseph (TRDDC, Pune, India)
   Zhiming Liu (UNU/IIST, Macao SAR China)
   Andrea Maggiolo-Schettini (University of Pisa, Pisa, Italy)

Program Committee

   Egidio Astesiano (University of Genova, Italy)
   David Basin (ETH Zurich, Switzerland)
   Gabriel Baum (National University of La Plata, Argentina)
   Tommaso Bolognesi (CNR-ISTI, Pisa, Italy)
   Marcello Bonsangue (Leiden University, The Netherlands)
   Jonathan Bowen (London South Bank University, UK)
   Frank de Boer (CWI, Amsterdam, The Netherlands)
   David Deharbe (DIMAp/UFRN, Natal, RN, Brazil)
   Jin Song Dong (National University, Singapore)
   JosČ Luiz Fiadeiro (University of Leicester, UK)
   Riccardo Focardi (University of Venezia, Italy)
   Paul Gastin (University of Paris, France)
   Uwe Glaesser (Simon Fraser University, Burnaby, BC Canada)
   Bernhard Gramlich (Vienna University of Technology, Austria)
   Nicolas Halbwachs (Verimag, Grenoble, France)
   Connie Heitmeyer (ITD, Naval Res Lab, Washington, DC, USA)
   Teruo Higashino (Osaka University, Japan)
   Mike Hinchey (NASA GSFC, Greenbelt, MD, USA)
   Joern Janneck (University of California at Berkeley, USA)
   Zhi Jin (Institute of Mathematics, CAS, Beijing, China)
   Ekkart Kindler (University of Paderborn, Germany)
   Padmanabhan Krishnan (Bond University, Gold Coast, Australia)
   Yassine Lakhnech (IMAG, Grenoble, France)
   Kung-Kiu Lau (Manchester University, UK)
   K. Rustan M. Leino (Microsoft Research, Redmond, WA, USA)
   Xiaoshan Li (Macao University, Macao)
   Huimin Lin (Institute of Software, CAS, Beijing, China)
   Jian Lu (Nanjing University, China)
   Tiziana Margaria (University of Dortmund, Germany)
   Ron van der Meyden (UNSW/NICTA, Sydney, Australia)
   Ana Moreira (New University of Lisbon, Portugal)
   Jonathan S. Ostroff (York University, Toronto, Canada)
   Paritosh Pandya (TIFR, , Mumbai, India)
   Anders P. Ravn (Aalborg University, Denmark)
   Augusto Sampaio (Federal Univ of Pernambuco, Recife, Brazil)
   Vladimiro Sassone (University of Sussex, UK)
   Shmuel Tyszerowicz (Tel-Aviv University, Israel)
   Mark Utting (University of Waikato, Hamilton, New Zealand)
   Heike Wehrheim (University of Oldenburg, Germany)
   Martin Wirsing (Ludwig Maximilian University, Munich, Germany)
   Jim Woodcock (University of Kent, UK)
   Wang Yi (Uppsala University, Sweden)
   Gianluigi Zavattaro (University of Bologna, Italy)
   Naixiao Zhang (Peking University, China)
   John Zic (Motorola Australia, Sydney, Australia

Date view Thread view Subject view Author view Attachment view