Accessibility statement

Recognition by professional bodies

We offer MSc degrees that are recognised both nationally and internationally.  In addition, we’re proud of the fact that our MSc in Safety Critical Systems Engineering is professionally recognised through accreditation by the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) and the BCS (the Chartered Institute for IT) – both the professional bodies representing computing and engineering in the UK.

Our MSc in Cyber Security has received full certification from the National Cyber Security Centre (NCSC)

But what does this mean for you?

Firstly, it is a mark of quality – we have been audited by both organisations and judged by both to provide a top level of education. Areas that are looked into include staffing, projects, resources, quality assurance, student support and the structure and technical depth of our courses.

Secondly, it means these courses are a great foundation if you wish to achieve professional registration with either the IET or BCS once you graduate. As the courses must meet some, or all, of the academic requirements for professional registration in order for it to become professionally accredited, it is a more streamlined way of achieving your professional registration.

We are also regularly audited to make sure that we keep these standards.

Professionally accredited courses are also respected by employers – so you will be increasing your career prospects.

Which of our courses are professionally accredited, and to what extent?

Both the IET and BCS recognise the following course as partial fulfilment of the education requirement for the Chartered Engineer (CEng) registration:

  • MSc Safety Critical Systems Engineering

The IET recognises the following course as automatically meeting some of the conditions for professional engineering status in the UK:

  • MSc Human-Centred Interactive Technologies

If you choose to study on one of our courses that is not yet professionally accredited, please be assured about the quality of the degree. You will still be receiving a recognised degree from the University of York, and you can apply to either the IET or BCS for exemption from part of their educational requirement. 

Check out our list of courses to find out which one is right for you.

What does each chartered status mean?

All chartered statuses are extremely valuable to employers and is a demonstration of your competence. Having a chartered status gives you enhanced career prospects in an increasingly competitive job market.

Each is slightly different, according to the job you want to do. The CEng award shows that you can develop appropriate solutions to engineering problems and manage and develop applications of current and developing technology.

Check out the definitions on the BCS website, and hear from a BCS member what it means to be chartered.

Back to Top