Accessibility statement

Computer Science celebrates students and staff at 2021 Awards

Posted on 7 July 2021

This now annual award evening celebrates the outstanding contributions students and staff make to the Department of Computer Science.


The awards took place online again this year but after a challenging time for us all it felt more important than ever to celebrate the strengths and successes of our community.

Our 2021 awards and winners are as follows.

Student Awards

The Student Awards celebrate students who support the department in our recruitment activities, teaching and programme delivery. It would be very difficult for us to run these activities without the students who help us.

This year’s award winners are:

Student Rep of the Year 2021

Honourable mentions went to all our student reps this year who have worked tirelessly in supporting us to deliver our programmes and supporting our students.

  • Highly Commended: Alex Aggelidis
  • Joint Winners: Cassie Lillystone and Natasha Coia

Buddy of the Year 2021

Our department and YUSU Buddy scheme was introduced to support our first years this year. It was a student-idea and a student-led activity. Namely an idea from the brilliant Natasha Coia who suggested that it could be a really supportive way to introduce students to the department and university. A big thank you to all our buddies this year. They all provided welcoming support for our first year students in a truly difficult year!

  • Joint Winners: Chloe Wardle and Dan Yates

Student Ambassador of the Year 2021

Honourable mentions to all of our student ambassadors this year who have worked hard to deliver new formats of online events. They demonstrated their resilience and professionalism as we have adapted and changed things along the way.

  • Highly Commended: Jordan Layton and Will Rowan
  • Winner: Jacob Allen

Professional Support Services (PSS) Recognition Awards

This year marked our inaugural Professional Support Services (PSS) Recognition Awards, celebrating outstanding performance by individuals and teams who provide administrative and technical support across the department. It has been a particularly challenging year for everyone in the department; but none less for our PSS team who have worked tirelessly behind the scenes to ensure we have continued to deliver and support both students and staff.

This year’s award winners are:

Most Valued Player (MVP) 2021

  • Highly Commended: David Hull and Jo Phillips
  • Winners: Debra Lashua and Luiza Kettlewell

Most Collaborative 2021

  • Highly Commended: David Hull
  • Winners: The Admissions Team - Catherine Smith, Nicola Peard, Dominique Pickering

Most Innovative and Creative 2021

  • Winner: Alex King

Unsung Hero 2021

  • Winner: Heather Taylor

Postgraduate Research Student and Staff Awards

Whilst it has been a tough and more virtual than ideal year for our postgraduate students and staff, our postgraduate research community continues to grow and prosper. We are also excited to be offering studentships within our Doctoral Centre for Safe, Ethical and Secure Computing next year.

This year’s nominees and winners are:

PGR Supervisor of the Year 2021

  • Nominees: Helen Petrie, Nick Pears, Paul Cairns, Peter Nightingale, Radu Calinescu, Tom Collins and Will Smith
  • Winner: Radu Calinescu

Graduate Teaching Assistant of the Year 2021

  • Nominees: Kevin Denamganai, Federico Vastarini, Alan Pedrassoli Chitayat, Alex Mountogiannakis, Felix Ulrich-Oltean and Cameron Kyle-Davidson
  • Winner: Felix Ulrich-Oltean

Best Paper 2021

  • Winner: Haitong Wang (with Neil C. Audsley and Wanli Chang)

“Addressing resource contention and timing predictability for multi-core architectures with shared memory interconnects”. IEEE Real-Time and Embedded Technology and Applications (RTAS) Symposium, 2020.

Best Thesis 2021

  • Winner: Sina Madani

“Parallel and Distributed Execution of Model Management Programs”. Supervisors: Professor Dimitris Kolovos and Professor Richard Paige.

Teaching & Learning Awards

The Teaching & Learning Awards celebrate excellence in teaching performance. The nominees were voted for by students in the Spring term.

This year’s award nominees and winners are:

Outstanding Feedback 2021

  • Shortlisted nominees: David Griffin, Mario Gleirscher, Leandro Soares Indrusiak, Nick Pears, Paul Cairns, Peter Nightingale, Simon O'Keefe and Vasili Vasilakis
  • Winner: Simon O’Keefe

Taught Supervisor of Year 2021

  • Shortlisted nominees: Angus Marshall, David Griffin, Detlef Plump, Ian Gray, Jeremy Jacob, Jim Woodcock, Katrina Attwood, Kofi Appiah, Patrik Huber, Siyuan Ji, Susan Stepney and Vasileios Vasilakis
  • Winner: Ian Gray

Engaging Lecturer 2021

  • Shortlisted nominees: Helen Petrie, James Stovold, Katrina Attwood, Mike Freeman, Patrik Huber, Pooya Farshim, Siamak Shahandashti, Steve King and Susan Stepney
  • Winner: Steve King

Excellence in Learning & Teaching Award (ELTA) 2021

  • Shortlisted nominees: Angus Marshall, Dan Franks, Debra Lashua, Heather Niven, James Stovold, Jen Beeston, Jim Woodcock, Katrina Attwood, Leandro Soares Indrusiak, Leonardo Sandoval Guzman, Lilian Blot, Luiza Kettlewell, Mike Freeman, Paul Cairns, Simon O'Keefe and Steve King
  • Winner: Mike Freeman

We will be keeping our fingers crossed that we will be celebrating together on campus next year but for this year we drew the event to a close with a now traditional virtual raising of glasses. A huge congratulations to all our award nominees and winners!