Accessibility statement

Heroes of Computer Science

In late 2019, the Department of Computer Science held a competition amongst staff and postgraduate research students, all of whom were asked to nominate two Heroes (which had to be one man and one woman). A wide range of nominations were received, including an historically and ethnically diverse range of heroes. 

In early 2020, we wrote to all of our living Heroes, congratulating them on their nomination, and asking them to send us a short biography and a message to our staff and students. We were overwhelmed by the response we received. Our Heroes are showcased below. 

Professor Michel Beaudouin-Lafon

Professor Susanne Bødker

Dr. Katie Bouman

Professor Noam Chomsky

Professor Steve Furber

Professor Marie-Claude Gaudel

Professor Shafi Goldwasser

Professor Dame Wendy Hall

Professor Sir Tony Hoare

Professor Daphne Koller

Blank person

Professor Nancy Leveson

Professor Barbara Liskov

Professor John Long

Professor Ursula Martin

Professor Jack Minker

Professor Bonnie Nardi

Professor Don Norman

Professor Judea Pearl

Dame Stephanie Shirley

Professor Ben Shneiderman

Professor Robert Spence

Professor Lucy Suchman

Dr. Sophie Wilson

Professor Jeannette Wing